Stronger Than Darkness

Stronger Than Darkness, cantata (2006) with 5 soloists, chorus and orchestra (2-2-2-2 4-2-3-1 harp, celeste, 3 or 4 perc. inc. timp. and strings), libretto by Jorge Martín with Dolores M. Koch, dur. c. 40 min. based on music from the opera “Before Night Falls” World premiere March 18, 2007 Monmouth Civic Chorus in Red Bank, NJ, Mark Shapiro conducting.

Program Notes

This cantata is based on music from the opera Before Night Falls.

Occasionally there is chorus in the cantata when there is no chorus in the opera. In this performance there was less percussion than is called for in the score.

The movements of the cantata correspond to scenes from the opera as follows:

I. from the Prologue

II. from Act One scene 1

III. Act One scene 2 (complete, with slight changes)

IV. from Act One scene 3 (with a cut)

V. Act Two scene 1 (complete, with slight changes)

VI. from Act Two scene 3

VII. from Act Two scene 4 (with a cut)

VIII.  Epilogue (complete, with slight changes)